Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

Board Members

Contact Information for SVA Board of Directors

Effective December 03, 2017
SVA Executive Committee

EXECUTIVE OFFICERS

Matthew Durington, President (2020)
Department of Anthropology, Sociology and Criminal Justice
mdurington@towson.edu

Stephanie Takaragawa, Past President (2018)
Department of Sociology, Chapman University
takaraga@chapman.edu

Jerome Crowder, Treasurer (2017)
The Institute for Medical Humanities, University of Texas Medical Branch
jecrowde@utmb.edu

Fiona McDonald (2018), Secretary, Social Media Director
Postdoctoral Researcher at the IUPUI Arts & Humanities Institute
fionamcdonald5@yahoo.ca

 

BOARD MEMBERS

Ethiraj Gabriel Dattatreyan(2019) Anthropology News
Department of Anthropology, Goldsmith, University of London
g.dattatreyan@gold.ac.uk

Robert Lemelson (2018) Social Media
Dept of Anthropology, University of California Los Angeles
roblemelson@elementalproductions.org

Aynur Kadir (2020) Student Representative, Website Committee
School of Interactive Arts and Technology, Simon Fraser University
akadir@sfu.ca

Brent Luvaas (2018) Nominations Committee
Department of Anthropology, Drexel University
luvaas@drexel.edu

Norma Mendoza-Denton (2018) Anthropology News
Anthropology, University of California Los Angeles
nmd@anthro.ucla.edu

Kristin Dowell (2019) Anthropology News
Department of Anthropology, Florida State University
kdowell@fsu.edu

Deborah C. Matzner (2019) Programming Committee
Department of Anthropology, Wellesley College
dmatzner@wellesley.edu

Arjun Shankar (2019) Anthropology News
Urban Studies Program, University of Pennsylvania
ashankar@gse.upenn.edu

Harjant S. Gill  (2020) Programming Committee
Towson University, Department of Sociology, Anthropology & Criminal Justice
hgill@towson.edu

Krista Harper (2020) Programming Committee
University of Massachusetts Amherst
harper@umass.edu

Craig Campbell (2020) Website Committee
University of Texas at Austin
craig.campbell@utexas.edu

EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS AND DESIGNEES

FILM AND MEDIA FESTIVAL CO-EDITORS
Ulla Berg

Department of Anthropology, Rutgers
uberg@rci.rutgers.edu

Kathryn Ramey
Department of Visual & Media Arts, Emerson College
kathryn_ramey@emerson.edu

 

VISUAL RESEARCH CONFERENCE CO-EDITORS
Thomas D. Blakely
Penn State University
tdb5@psu.edu (and copy to tdblakely@aol.com)

Andrea Heckman
University of New Mexico, Taos
andreaheckman333@gmail.com

 

VISUAL ANTHROPOLOGY REVIEW CO-EDITORS
Jenny Chio

Department of Anthropology, Emory University
Jenny.Chio@emory.edu

Rupert Cox
School of Social Sciences, The University of Manchester 
rupert.cox@manchester.ac.uk

 

HISTORIAN 
Joanna Cohan Scherer, Historian, Collier Committee & Lifetime Achievement Award Committee
Emeritus Anthropologist, Smithsonian Institution
schererj@si.edu 

Elizabeth Cartwright, SVA Robert Lemelson Foundation Fellowship Committee &Collier Award Committee
Idaho State University
arteliz@sfu.ca

PAST PRESIDENTS

Jack Rollwagen, 1984-1985

Tom Blakely, 1986-1987

Karl Heider, 1988-1989

Richard Chalfen, 1990-1991

Joanna Scherer, 1992-1993

Fadwa El Guindi, 1994-1995

Emilie de Brigard, 1996-1997

Malcolm Collier, 1998-1999

Harald Prins, 2000-2001

Carol Hermer, 2002-2003

Peter Biella, 2004-2005

Anne Zeller, 2006-2007

Mary Strong, 2008-2009

Karl Heider, 2010-2011

Liam Buckley, 2012-2013

Jonathan Marion 2014-2015

Stephanie Takaragawa 2016-2017

Follow us to get the latest updates.

twitter facebook rss