Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

Board Members

Contact Information for SVA Board of Directors

Effective November 23, 2016
SVA Executive Committee

EXECUTIVE OFFICERS

Stephanie Takaragawa, President (2017)
Department of Sociology, Chapman University
takaraga@chapman.edu

Matthew Durington, President – Elect (2017)
Department of Anthropology, Sociology and Criminal Justice
mdurington@towson.edu

Jerome Crowder, Treasurer (2017)
The Institute for Medical Humanities, University of Texas Medical Branch
jecrowde@utmb.edu

Fiona McDonald (2018), Secretary, Social Media Director
Postdoctoral Researcher at the IUPUI Arts & Humanities Institute
fionamcdonald5@yahoo.ca

 

BOARD MEMBERS

Kate Hennessy (2017) Website Committee
School of Interactive Arts and Technology, Simon Fraser University, Canada
hennessy_kate@sfu.ca
http://hennessy.iat.sfu.ca/mcl

Ethiraj Gabriel Dattatreyan(2019) Anthropology News
Department of Anthropology, Goldsmith, University of London
g.dattatreyan@gold.ac.uk

Allison Jablonko (2017)  Lifetime Achievement Award Committee
Independent Researcher, Keene, NH
jablonko@mac.com

Robert Lemelson (2017) Social Media
Dept of Anthropology, University of California Los Angeles
roblemelson@elementalproductions.org

Brent Luvaas (2018) Nominations Committee
Department of Anthropology, Drexel University
luvaas@drexel.edu

Norma Mendoza-Denton (2018) Anthropology News
Anthropology, University of California Los Angeles
nmd@anthro.ucla.edu

Kristin Dowell (2019) Anthropology News
Department of Anthropology, Florida State University
kdowell@fsu.edu

Deborah C. Matzner (2019) Programming Committee
Department of Anthropology, Wellesley College
dmatzner@wellesley.edu

Arjun Shankar (2019) Anthropology News
Urban Studies Program, University of Pennsylvania
ashankar@gse.upenn.edu

Maurita N. Poole (2018) Programming Committee
Clark Atlanta University Art Galleries
mpoole@cau.edu

EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS AND DESIGNEES

FILM AND MEDIA FESTIVAL CO-EDITORS
Ulla Berg

Department of Anthropology, Rutgers
uberg@rci.rutgers.edu

Kathryn Ramey
Department of Visual & Media Arts, Emerson College
kathryn_ramey@emerson.edu

 

VISUAL RESEARCH CONFERENCE CO-EDITORS
Thomas D. Blakely
Penn State University
tdb5@psu.edu (and copy to tdblakely@aol.com)

Andrea Heckman
University of New Mexico, Taos
andreaheckman333@gmail.com

 

VISUAL ANTHROPOLOGY REVIEW CO-EDITORS
Jenny Chio

Department of Anthropology, Emory University
Jenny.Chio@emory.edu

Rupert Cox
School of Social Sciences, The University of Manchester 
rupert.cox@manchester.ac.uk

 

HISTORIAN 
Joanna Cohan Scherer, Historian, Collier Committee & Lifetime Achievement Award Committee
Emeritus Anthropologist, Smithsonian Institution
schererj@si.edu 

 

PAST PRESIDENTS
Jack Rollwagen, 1984-1985
Tom Blakely, 1986-1987
Karl Heider, 1988-1989
Richard Chalfen, 1990-1991
Joanna Scherer, 1992-1993
Fadwa El Guindi, 1994-1995
Emilie de Brigard, 1996-1997
Malcolm Collier, 1998-1999
Harald Prins, 2000-2001
Carol Hermer, 2002-2003
Peter Biella, 2004-2005
Anne Zeller, 2006-2007
Mary Strong, 2008-2009
Karl Heider, 2010-2011
Liam Buckley, 2012-2013
Jonathan Marion 2014-2015

Follow us to get the latest updates.

twitter facebook rss